Marathon 4-Person Corporate Relay

Registration is open for the spring 2021 virtual events. We will open up virtual registration for the fall 2021 events on March 1. Fall virtual registrants will have the first option to switch to the in-person events upon approval.

The Flying Pig will donate $1,000 to the winning team’s charity in the male, female and coed divisions. Get your co-workers or friends together, form a team, and join us for the Corporate Relay!

2020 Flying Pig Marathon Inaugural Ignite Women’s Relay Challenge

When the women’s relay team from Ignite Philanthropy realized they finished first in the 2019 Flying Pig Marathon Corporate Relay, they were surprised. The bigger surprise: they were only 1 of 3 corporate female relay teams that participated in the marathon.

In a new partnership between the Flying Pig Marathon and Ignite Philanthropy, we aim to go from only 3 female relay teams in 2019 to 300 hundred women relay teams within the next 3 years. Through the Flying Pig Marathon and additional Pig Works events, we hope to create a supportive community of women in the Queen City – who show up for each other and encourage each other to get out and participate in the relay of life, on race day & 365 days a year.  To ignite action, community, and confidence.

Teams will receive exclusive access to events with Olympian Mary Wineberg, sports psychologist Barbara Walker and Flying Pig Marathon CEO Iris Simpson Bush, among others.

Packet Pick-up

Packet Pickup will be held at the P&G Health & Fitness Expo located in the Duke Energy Convention Center.

Friday - April 30, 2021Saturday - May 1, 2021
tbd tbd

The Marathon Relay Team packets will be distributed at the P&G Health & Fitness Expo and will contain all materials and supplies for each of the runners on the team. Only one member of the team may pick up the packets for the team, but all team members are advised to come for the pickup and distribution of team packets and premiums.  Packets will be organized by team name.

Course Description

The Flying Pig Marathon Relay takes place on the FULL MARATHON course, with three relay exchanges at miles 6.38, 11.74, and 19.19.

Leg 1 participants start at the same time as the other marathoners – 6:30 a.m. There is not a separate start for the Relay Teams.

Leg 2, 3, and 4 relay runners will be bused to their respective exchange zone, via our First Student UBOAR Shuttle buses. They should report to the relay bus loading area on Eggleston and Butler, located 1.5 miles from the marathon start. Volunteers will direct these participants to the buses. Buses for the second participant will depart from 5:40 a.m. to 5:55 a.m. from the relay staging area. Buses for the third participant will depart from 6:10 a.m. to 6:35 a.m. and buses for the fourth leg will depart from 7:00a.m. to 7:20 a.m. Ambassaboars from Mount St. Joseph will be on each bus to answer any questions.

LegLocationLeg DistanceTotal Distance
1 Starting Line to Eden Park at Mirror Lake 6.38 miles 6.38 miles
2 Eden Park at Mirror Lake to E. Hyde Park 5.36 miles 11.74 miles
3 E. Hyde Park to Eastern at Linwood 7.45 miles 19.19 miles
4 Eastern at Linwood to Finish Line 7.01 miles 26.2 miles

The course will close on a continuous pace of 16:00 minutes per mile. Anyone who cannot maintain the 16:00 minute per mile pace must move to the sidewalk as the course closes to allow regular traffic through. Participant services cannot be guaranteed for participants beyond the 16:00 minute per mile pace.

  • Minimum age for relay participants: 14 years old on race day

Participant Amenities

All registered participants will receive a technical shirt, premium gift, limited-edition poster and virtual goodie bag.

All relay finishers will receive a finisher’s medal, mylar blanket and finish-area refreshments. Finisher’s certificates will be available to download after the race.


Overall prizes will be awarded to the top two male, female and coed teams, determined by chip time.

Awards will be given for the top male and female in each leg of the relay (only all male or female teams eligible for this award).